January Speaker – Heather Fischl

This month’s speaker is Heather Fischl, who will be speaking at the monthly meeting on Wednesday, 14th January, 2015.

photoWhy is beer cheaper than water? Why do the streets change names? Why is it called Oktoberfest when it occurs in September? Have you have ever asked yourself these or other questions regarding Munich? If so then join me as I discuss the ‘History of Munich’.  Munich has a very rich history starting with the settling of monks and it continues to create history to this very day.  Some interesting topics I will cover include how arson put Munich on the map, how beer saved our city and the origins of Oktoberfest.

I have acquired this knowledge of all things Munich while studying to become a tour guide. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you.

2 Responses

  1. I am a pending new member and would love to attend this event. Could you let me know when and where you are speaking? Thank you.

  2. Please let me know when& where you will speak – I’m not officially a member yet but am thinking of joining. Thank You Best Wishes Brent

Comments are closed.

